Its hard…

boston-marathon-child-victim-7c6dcd4ee7d4a512

To put into words how I’ve felt over the last week. A week and one day ago, two cowards killed three innocent people and changed hundreds of lives forever. This past Friday those two cowards were caught by the BPD and the FBI. One of them died, the other one is alive and healing in a hospital so that he can go to trial for his crimes. Before they were caught the two cowards killed another person who was simply doing their job, and severely wounded another. They endangered thousands of other people in their attempt to flee, and showed no regard for human life as they lobbed pipe bombs out the window of their moving car as they were being chased by the authorities. After the first coward was killed, his brother ran him over in his attempt to get away from the police.

It makes me incredibly angry that these two men, who have been in the U.S since they were children, have so little regard for human life that they would end the lives of four people who did nothing to them, and for what? Their “faith“? If they hated America so much, why did they continue to live here and enjoy the freedoms that they so callously took away from four people last week? There is no justifying their crimes. None whatsoever. If your faith tells you to kill innocent people then it is a perverted faith, one that has no place in a free society. That is the beauty of the U.S. We are free to believe, or not believe, in any religion we want, so long as we extend that same freedom to others. Bombing a gathering of thousands of people to promote your faith is in direct contradiction of that freedom. And it is for that exact reason that the people responsible for this terrible crime should face the full weight of the American justice system.

Personally, I think the one who died got the easy way out. He will never have to answer for his crimes. If there is a hell, I hope he is rotting away for the rest of eternity, but since I can’t say for certain there is, I stand by my original statement. He got off easy.

As for what happens to his brother, my emotions have run the gamut. I want him to fry in an electric chair, or better yet be shot to pieces by a firing squad so he can feel at least a fraction of what his victims felt as they were dying. Fuck his rights to die in as little pain as possible. I want him to be in unspeakable pain when the light leaves his eyes since that is the death sentence he handed down to the victims of the bombing. And then there is the other end of the spectrum. I want him to rot away in prison for the rest of his miserable life. And screw putting him in protective custody. Let him get a taste of prison justice after the other inmates learn why his ass is going to be in jail for the rest of his life.

What is harder for me to deal with is the human aftermath. The outpouring of love and support I have felt from everyone has been astounding. From watching other people run TOWARDS the site of the bombings with no regard to their safety, to the people lined up outside blood banks to donate, including people who had just finished the marathon running straight to the local hospitals to donate. Its amazing what happens when tragedy strikes. We may have our flaws, but at the end of the day, most of the Americans I know will stand up and help when its needed, and I couldn’t be more proud of the way we have responded as a country to this senseless attack.

I’d like to take a moment to respond to some of the less than stellar responses I’ve seen over the last week, though I am loathe to give you more attention. To those of you who think we somehow deserved this (ahem, Westboro Baptist Church), FUCK YOU and your hate filled nonsense. You are just as despicable to me as the two cowards that committed this atrocious crime. I hope you rot in hell right along with these two, you are disgrace to this country and the people who work hard to make sure you have the right to spew your vitriol.

To the conspiracy theorists stating that the government knew about this in advance and did nothing to stop it and/or had a hand in making it happen, please kindly shut the fuck up. I highly doubt that if they had known about it, they would have allowed it to happen, especially considering several people lost their lives as a result, and countless more will be impacted for decades to come. If you are so concerned with our government’s ability and desire to protect its citizens why are you still here? Why are you sending your children to public schools and driving on public roads?

To those stating the surviving bomber should be stripped of his rights, I don’t think that is a path any of us want to go down. If he deserves to be stripped of his rights as an American citizen, where does it stop? We have these laws in place for a reason, and as much as I want this guy to fry, I know it is a dangerously slippery slope to revoke his rights. As much as I hate him and the things he did, I know that if I were to ever be accused of committing a crime, I would want my rights protected, especially if I wasn’t guilty. Plus, if we strip him of his rights, what kind of nation would we be? No better than the country’s we claim to loathe (North Korea, for example) and strive to be better than in every possible way. As much as I hate to say it, this guy needs to stand trial so he can answer for the horrible things he did, and the only way to guarantee that happens is to make sure he has the right to a jury trial.

Leave a Reply

