My Heart Hurts

Me and Joe at the beach, taken by my best friend

Me and Joe at the beach, taken by my best friend

I can’t begin to tell you how angry I am at the events that happened yesterday at the Boston Marathon. Among the dead is an 8 year old little boy, who was there to watch his father finish the race. His sister lost one leg and his mother suffered a traumatic brain injury which required surgery. He had  hugged his father as he crossed the finish line just moments before the bomb went off. What I want to know is why.

What made the person/people responsible think this was acceptable? That it was okay to take the life of an INNOCENT little boy, who only wanted to watch his father finish the race? What did HE do that was so heinous that you felt you had no other option but to take his life? Or what about the other victims, the dozens of people injured in the attack? We can only hope that no one else dies, but with some of the pictures I’ve seen online (no, I’m not going to post them here), I think its unlikely that the death toll won’t rise. What was their crime? What did they do to deserve (in some instances) a life time of suffering?

The answer is NOTHING. There is no crime they could have committed that would warrant the amount of suffering these people are going through. Or their families and friends. Lets not forget them. Many of them were there. Many of them saw their loved ones fall victim to this senseless attack, and narrowly escaped themselves. There is no crime they could have committed that could warrant the amount of suffering these people will continue to go through, many of them for the rest of their lives. The little girl of the male victim I talked about earlier? She was SIX YEARS OLD. She will spend the rest of her life without the use of her leg, and that is assuming she survives.

To whoever did this, I hope we find you. I think that we will. I don’t think there is a cave you can hide in where we won’t find you. And I hope that when we do find you, that you are made to suffer just as greatly as you have made those people suffer. You are scum. Despicable, the lowest of the low. I have every confidence in the people of Boston and the world at large to move on from this. I hope you never will. I hope you spend the rest of your short, miserable life running in fear, knowing that we will get justice for the people you murdered.

To the people using this for political/personal/financial gain. You are only slightly better than the person/people responsible for this, and I hope you realize just how disgusting you are. You disgust me. The fact that you are using this attack to further any agenda is despicable to me, and I hope you realize just how abhorrent your remarks are to those of us who actually have a heart, to those of us who actually care about the people who were hurt by this terrible tragedy. There is no justification, there is no reason why you should be using this TRAGEDY to further your cause.

To the people who ran into help without a second thought. Thank you. I hope you realize how brave I think you are, and how brave the rest of the world considers you to be. You saw suffering and instead of holding back, you ran into the fray to help, and I am sure there are lives that will be saved as a result of your actions. You are my hero, and the reason I still have hope for humanity. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

